Walking Words

I am one of those people who loves to encourage others(hence the blog). As much I love to encourage, I yearn to be encouraged. Often, I find this encouragement digging deeper into the people around me, learning their stories. I put this desire into practice over the past few days; I asked close friends and family for 1-3 words describing their walk with Christ. I got back a multitude of answers from different views. It was refreshing to receive such enthralling, authentic, and personal answers to a complex yet simple question.

Now, it is time for introduce the new, beautiful people God has placed into my life that contributed to this post(and probably will be mentioned in many more because that is just how great they are).

  • Pepper – a cherished friend who I assume will be in my fondest memories
  • Amicus – a treasure in my life that has stood by my side through some of the hardest challenges I’ve been through
  • Illustrious – a friend who has challenged me, held my hand, laughed with me, and showed me the joy in life again
  • Gucci(I promise, this was upon request) – an admirable friend by which I’ve been blessed with the privilege of crossing paths with
  • PSL – a beloved friend who I await many mesmeric journeys with
  • Bambi – a dear friend who is open about promoting Jesus in every situation

“Know then in your heart that as a man disciplines his son, so the LORD your God disciplines you. Observe the commands of the LORD your God, walking in obedience to Him and revering Him. For the LORD your God is bringing you into a good land–a land with brooks, streams, and deep springs gushing out into the valleys and hills; a land with wheat and barley, vines and fig trees, pomegranates, olive oil and honey; a land where bread will not be scarce and you will lack nothing; a land where the rocks are iron and you can dig copper out of the hills.” -Deuteronomy 8:5-9 NIV


Before we go any further, please, wherever you are, praise Jesus for pomegranates. He truly is a good, GOOD father.

Thank you.

When researching what the bible says about walking with Christ, these verses stuck out to me like a peacock in the middle of a cow pasture. Read that passage again. How amazing is our Creator? He calls us to walk with Him and revere Him, and if we do just that He will bless us beyond what we can imagine.(Pomegranates, people, who could ask for much more???) My original plan was to single out Deut. 8:6.


“Observe the commands of the LORD your God, walking in obedience to Him and revering Him.”


But how could we miss what follows it:


“For the LORD your God is bringing you into a good land–a land with brooks, streams, and deep springs gushing out into the valleys and hills; a land with wheat and barley, vines and fig trees, pomegranates, olive oil and honey; a land where bread will not be scarce and you will lack nothing; a land where the rocks are iron and you can dig copper out of the hills.” -Deuteronomy 8:7-9 


That is truly astonishing.

We all have our own paradise where we like to escape to mentally throughout strenuous days, or even physically when we are offered the chance. For some, paradise is a week at the beach, for some it is a backpacking trip, while others imagine paradise as their family in one home laughing and telling stories. Regardless of what your paradise is, you have one and probably see it as close to perfect. What Moses is describing in Deut. 8:7-9 is what the people of Israel would imagine as their paradise. The picture these words portray is a beautiful one. When you read it, I hope you imagined what it looks like! If not, go back and read it with your imagination cap on!!!!! In this land, the resources are going to be bountiful and THERE WILL BE POMEGRANATES!!!! How could the Israelites resist? They are promised to feast at every meal with an awesome view. It sounds like a trip I would like to take… anyone else want to tag along?

God did in fact promise this land to the people of Israel, but they did not get it acting a fool. He required actions from them that are stated clearly before the glorious pomegranates were mentioned. Three things are required for Israel to receive their promised land.

  1. Observe the commands of the LORD
  2. Walk in obedience
  3. Revere God

Our walks with Christ will include views just as inviting as verses 7-9 describes above IF AND ONLY IF we model our walk with Christ as the above three elements. Observe the commands of the LORD. Moses is referencing the ten commandments along with what the people of Israel have heard from the LORD personally. We are to listen to and study what the LORD is telling us through our personal interactions with Him, along with what he commands us to do through the bible.

Once we listen to and study what the LORD is telling each one of us, we are then called to walk in obedience. The hardest part of being a Christian, to me, is moving when God tells me to move and resting when He tells me to rest. I’m stubborn and often believe I know best, although that has been proven wrong a time, or two, or every single time(It’s like Jesus knows what is best for me or something…). Walking with Christ is fun, joyful, and terrifying at times. He uses our fears to bring Him glory, so when He tells us to move, we better hit the ground running. After reading those three verses, I am hopeful in thinking that we all are eager for Christ to tell us what to do next in order to get to our views.

Revering God. Standing in awe of the Creator of the universe and everything that is within it. Knowing and respecting that God is almighty, omnipresent, omnipotent, and omniscient will do you and me a whole lot of good, including getting us to the beautiful view He has planned for us.

All in all, these verses teach us that if we walk with Christ, He will provide, and not only with what we need, but with what he desires for us. He is our Holy Father and he yearns to spoil us with riches, but like any effective parent, He will not reward disobedience. Our walk with Him can be hard and painful but He will turn the hurt into dancing!

When I asked for words that would describe personal walks with Christ, I am not sure what I expected but I am captivated with the responses.

  • Real, Best Friend
  • Intimate, Unbreakable
  • Purifying, Healing, Extraordinary
  • Hills, Meadows, Bridges
  • Essential, Sustaining, Humbling
  • Only getting better
  • Blind Faith, Empowering
  • On going, Up-lifting
  • Journey
  • Challenging, Worthy, Rewarding

For the most part, these are words I have heard since I can remember, words that the church uses quite often. But while reading the list wondering why I had asked this question and what I would do with these words, I realized I had not ever looked up the book definition of any of these words. If you have not either, I suggest you do. It will blow you away that people would use such words to describe the most rigorous journey of their life.

Whether literal or figurative, everyone was positive about their walk with our Creator, but I guarantee if you ask anyone of them, they will tell you it has not been an easy trek. When was the last time you did something that was scary, where you could not predict the outcome? When did you last go through a mess in your life that may still hurt to look back on? What were you thinking in the midst of that? I am almost 100% certain you were not thinking about how much you enjoyed it and cannot wait to do it again. We often fall to bitter thoughts and anger, often times toward God. I bet we did not feel strong in the midst of it either. While struggling with fear, uncertainty, and pain we feel small and powerless. However, the people above claimed words with positive, powerful meanings.

I cannot help but wonder if these positive words describe their walks with Christ because they have all seen a glimpse of that beautiful promised land on the other side of our struggles. They have experienced the fulfilling meals of the Spirit while taking in the extravagant view.

What are your words? Have you seen what the LORD can do for you and with you? He will make you beautiful and do beautiful things with you.

I pray you see what the LORD has planned for you; that you get to see your paradise. Wherever you are in life, I pray the LORD reaches you soon through all the pain and suffering you may be feeling to bring good into the world.

If you are comfortable sharing or just want to encourage other followers of Christ, comment your words or a blurb below.

Until next post, Look Up and Keep Going!

#JesusIsTheCoolest

~solacingresilience~

Leave a Reply

