The Broken

Jesus told me to love those who love me back. I was strictly told to only show love towards those who it is easy to love or those that appear “lovable.”

I hope you thought about closing this page while reading that. The statement above seems ridiculous and should make you cringe. If it sounds so wrong then why do we fall into the trap of loving the “lovable” so often?

As a follower of Christ, I am personally called to to serve and love EVERYONE that I cross paths with. You are too. However everyday I wake up with my roommate and there begins another day of loving the “lovables” in my life.

Who is lovable? To me, it is someone who is happy, optimistic, supportive and appears to have their life together. That is who it is easy for me to love. I asked some of my friends the question, Who is lovable to you?

  • “Those who love me back; those who I agree with”
  • “Someone who doesn’t step on peoples’ toes; someone who gets along with others: someone who wants your best and will make sacrifices for your best”
  • “Someone who goes out their way for you, who puts others first; someone who doesn’t argue over petty things; someone who cares about your faith.”

I think we all can relate to one, if not all of those descriptions. We all have an idea of who is “lovable” regardless if we actively think about it or not.


“Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.” -James 1:27


Throughout scripture we are given pictures of widows and orphans. In Job we see how they react to being loved and cared for.


“For I assisted the poor in their need and the orphans who required help. I helped those without hope, and they blessed me. And I caused the widows’ hearts to sing for joy.” – Job 29:12-13


In your life I am sure there has been a time when you have felt hopeless and helpless. But when someone showed you a glimmer of hope and consistent love, you start to get to your feet again, and you’re back in the race. The joy and hope you are filled with when someone cares for you that much is incomparable. That is how the orphans and widows felt when being loved.

They were so accustomed to being disregarded and pushed to the side, that when someone loved them they praised them and they were filled with joy! These people that we are called to love are not normally loved. These people do not fit into the idea of “lovable”. They are broken and cracked. They have some rough edges, sometimes more than they would like to admit. But we are called to love them.

We do not get to pick who we love. James 2:1 reinforces this. 

“My dear brothers and sisters, how can you claim to have faith in our glorious Lord Jesus Christ if you favor some people over others?” James 2:1

 I challenge you to love your coworker/peer that drives you up a wall. Show them the love of the Creator. Claim your faith in Jesus by loving all those around you. EVERYONE AROUND YOU. It’s a challenge for a lot of people, including myself. It’s not comfortable. But as I challenge you to do it, I challenge myself too. To look like Christ; to be a window to His never-ending, unconditional love. 

Until next post, Look Up and Keep Going. 

~solacingresilience~

#JesusIsTheCoolest

 

Leave a Reply

