URGENT CASTING

Casting fear and anxiety unto the Lord is much easier said than done. In anyone’s christian walk, it is so important to cast ALL our fears to Jesus. A revolutionary turning point for me recently was when I learned what it feels like to actually release it all over to Him.

One fear I have is flying on airplanes. My junior year of high school, I was a part of the marching band. When we took our trip, as a band, to Disney World, we flew from Maryland to Florida. I had expressed to my friends that I do not do so well on airplanes so they were prepared to an extent, but I’m not sure anyone could have predicted the anxiety overload that was coming.

As we sat on the plane getting ready to take off, I was fine – alittle shakey, but I was okay. Then we started to take off and my fear took over. I was pressed as close to my seat as I could possibly get, gripping the arm rests as much as I could, and not breathing. In my fear, I convinced myself, regardless of the people walking, talking and laughing, that if I took a single breath I would tip the plane sending us crashing to the ground. Eventually as we settled into the flight I realized that was silly, and even more when I was back on the ground and my fear was totally gone.

Another fear I have is not being in control of my future. I thought I had my future set in stone about three times now. And all three times, my plans had been crushed, demolished, obliterated, however you would like it put, those plans were ruined. Every time I thought I had control again I had a sense things were crumbling; I knew I was in unhealthy situations all three times, but since I had control, I would have preferred to keep moving than let my future go. God had other plans.

Once plans changed and I no longer felt I was in the driver’s seat, I was constantly on edge and not living life to the fullest. I became depressed and walked through life with a monstrosity of anxiety driving my every thought and my every move. Hating what I was feeling, I tried to get rid of it several different ways. I tried sleeping any chance I could; I tried working out for way longer than I should have; I tried eating too much; I tried eating too little; I tried so many different strategies that seemed promising at the beginning but never resulted in a good feeling for long. Only temporary bliss.

The only thing that has gotten rid of my overwhelming anxiety is reminding myself of the Lord and His promises.


“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that He may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:6-7


Sweet child of God, the Creator of the universe cares for you. Oh, I hope you believe that. Once you believe that with ALL your heart, giving him every fear you choose to let run your life will be easy.

Accepting His care took me getting on my knees, putting myself down, and surrendering everything I have to God. Every day I have to ask God to imprison my fear and to take it far, far away from me. Upon my releasing, He gladly does.

But, I have asked Him to take my fear of the future before while I held onto it as if it was the very breath inside my lungs. I held onto my it due the fear of what life would like without that fear! That seems ridiculous, but, brothers and sisters, it is so common for us to cling to the evils in our lives because we do not know what it will feel like on the other side, once we let go.

I’m telling you now, LET GO.

On the other side of releasing your fears to God is overwhelming peace. The joy of the Lord waits for you, and His divine plan will unfold before your eyes if you would just release what is holding you back from Him.


“So be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid and do not panic before them. For the Lord your God will personally go ahead of you. He will never fail you nor abandon you.” Deuteronomy 31:6


There it is. There is His faithful promise. Give it to Him and He will not disappoint you. Remember whose you are, for who you belong to is who will guide you through life.

From the fear of flying on airplanes, to the crippling fear of the future, giving it to Jesus has made my life so much brighter. No matter what your fear is, I pray you are able to finally really let go of it. God cares for you and desires us to give Him our fears.

Until next post, Look Up and Keep Going!

~solacingresilience~

#JesusIsTheCoolest

Leave a Reply

